Porsche ‘minimum spend’ scam exposed


Dan Trent writes:

I may have alluded to the fact I’ve been known to spend time on the Porsche car configurator occasionally. Yes, tragic, I realise. But a foray on there the other day revealed an interesting fact. It’s literally impossible to spec a Porsche on there and not add at least £15K to the price. I tried three times. First, a 911 Carrera S to defend my view that all the true purist needs is a basic, entry level 911 and not some bells and whistles Turbo with PDK. So, I start with a silver C2S. Nothing fancy, just a silver 911 Carrera S, base price £69,793.

Oh, but it would have to have black wheels. Sod it, it’s only another £990. Hm, those 19-inch Carrera Sport ones look rather nice actually. £503. Next thing I know I’m merrily ticking the box for yellow seat belts (£270) and the purchase price is nudging £90K.

Well, if you’re going to spend £90K you may as well have a GT3 and it’s not like that has many options to bump up the price. But, wait, somehow, without really trying, that £85K starting price ends up just over a hundred grand. Eh?
OK, maybe a bit much. What about a Cayman S, starting price £44,652? I don’t even go for metallic paint this time round, the better for the junior GT3 look. But the black wheels were a definite, ditto the sports seats at £2,939. And, having heard how good it is on the Boxster RS60 there is no way I can say nein danke to the sport auspuff* option, a snip at £1,276. Next thing I know: there’s ‘my’ Cayman S and a £60K price ticket in the window. Damn! Love the way the configurator gives you an actual order number on your print out too, like you were just about to click ‘buy it’ and your new Porsche would somehow magically appear. If only.

So, Porsche dealers, on the slim chance I ever actually darken your door with the intention and, more importantly, funds to buy a new car from your range you know your luck is in. Indeed, it’ll be the easiest £15K you ever made.

Dan

*Yes, the German for exhaust really is auspuff. No sense of humour you say?

Links:
Roots in racing, not posing
Boxster RS60 road test
Cayman S PDK first drive

Share It

 del.icio.us   Digg   Facebook   Google 
 Live Spaces   MySpace   Newsvine   Reddit 
 StumbleUpon   Technorati   Twitter   Yahoo! My Web 

This entry was posted in Wild Wild Web. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment